5 IPC World Swimming Series events scheduled for 2022 | RCC

The International Paralympic Committee has published an updated calendar for the 2022 World Swimming Series.

The new season will kick off on February 17 in Aberdeen (UK) at the Aberdeen Sports Village Aquatics Center.

The second phase will be held in Melbourne from 18 to 20 February at the Melbourne Sports Centers (MSAC). The pool complex in the Australian city hosted the 2019 and 2020 World Series.

The race will continue with a stage in the Italian city of Lignano – Sabbiadoro from March 11 to 13.

The capital of Germany – Berlin will host the Paralympic swimmers from March 31 to April 1.

Berlin has been part of the World Series since the first season in 2017. In 2020, this event marked the return of the World Series after the competition was canceled due to the COVID-19 pandemic. The tournament was attended by 240 athletes from 48 countries. Berlin is one of the most traditional destinations for Paralympic swimming in the world and has hosted international competitions in the sport for almost four decades.

Phase 5 will be held in Indianapolis (USA) from April 7 to 9. Indiana University Water Basin will host the World Series for the fourth time and for the first time since 2019.

As in previous seasons, the results of each match will be calculated using the standardized World Para Swimming scoring system through a virtual online competition platform.

After each race, the World Series rankings will be updated on the World Before Swimming website.

All host cities have signed multi-year agreements with World Money Swimming for the entire cycle until the 2024 Paralympic Games in Paris.

Pre-Swimming 2022 World Series Calendar:
Phase I – Aberdeen (UK): 17-20 February
Phase II – Melbourne (Australia): 18-20 February
Phase III – Lignano Sabbiadoro (Italy): 11-13 March
Phase IV – Berlin (Germany): 31 March – 1 April
Phase V – Indianapolis (USA): April 7-9

More information is available on the Swimming 2022 World Series website: https://www.paralympic.org/swimming/world-series-2022

Use of materials by the International Paralympic Committee: https://www.paralympic.org/news/para-swimming-world-series-calendar-updated AND https://www.paralympic.org/news/berlin-and-indianapolis-join-world-series-2022.

Swimming is one of the first sports disciplines in Paralympic sports, which was included in the competitive program at the 1960 Summer Paralympic Games in Rome (Italy). The sport was developed by the International Paralympic Committee (IPC). Swimming is one of the most intense medal sports at the Paralympic Games. It includes men and women with lesions of the musculoskeletal system, visual impairment and intellectual impairment. At the Paralympic Games, athletes perform in a 50-meter pool in 8 lanes of the International Water Federation (FINA) standard. At the XVI Paralympic Games, Russian swimmers won 17 gold, 14 silver and 18 bronze medals.


Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.